Home / There No Consensus Global Warming

There is No Consensus on Global Warming

Aug 10, 2006

The theory of global warming being caused by human activity is not accepted by a consensus of scientists as a matter of universally accepted scientific fact. There are a large number of scientists who oppose, or are skeptical of the human causes of global warming, or the data and models which are used to support the human-caused global warming theory. Here is a list of some of these scientists:

  • Patrick Michaels. University of Virginia. Past President of the American Association of State Climatologists and former program Chair for the Committee on Applied Climatology for the American Meteorological Society. Contributing Author and Reviewer of U.N. Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.


  • Richard S. Lindzen. Alfred P. Sloan Professor of Atmospheric Science, MIT
    Climate of Fear - Global-warming alarmists intimidate dissenting scientists into silence. A Wall Street Journal Editorial by Dr. Richard Lindzen, Alfred P. Sloan Professor of Atmospheric Science at MIT. Link
  • David Legates. Associate Professor of Climatology and Director of the Center for Climatic Research, University of Delaware. Delaware State Climatologist.


  • John Christy. Professor of Atmospheric Science and Director of the Earth System Science Center, University of Alabama, in Huntsville. Alabama State Climatologist. NASA Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement and American Meteorological Society Special Award. Fellow in the American Meteorological Society.


  • Willie Soon. Physicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, and Astronomer, Mount Wilson Observatory.


  • Randall Cerveny. Associate Professor of Geography, Arizona State University. Recipient of the Antarctica Service Medal and the British Cartographic Society Medal.


  • Dr. Oliver W. Frauenfeld. Research Scientist at the Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences Division of Cryospheric and Polar Processes, University of Colorado. Contributing Author to the IPCC Working Group 1 Fourth Assessment Report.


  • Roy Spencer. Principal Research Scientist, University of Alabama Huntsville. Former Senior Scientist for Climate Studies at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center. Recipient of NASA's Medal for Exceptional Scientific Achievement, American Meteorological Society's Special Award.


  • Sallie Baliunas. Astrophysicist, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, former Deputy Director, Mount Wilson Observatory.


  • Robert Davis. Associate Professor of Climatology, University of Virginia. Member of EPA Global Change Research Strategy, and the NOAA Data Management Advisory Panel. Contributed to the 1995 Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. Past Chair of the American Metrological Society’s Committee on Biometeorology and Aermeteorology and past President of the Climatology Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers.


  • Robert Balling, Jr. Professor, Department of Geography and former Director of the Office of Climatology, Arizona State University. Climate Consultant to the United Nations Environment Program, The World Climate Program, World Metrological Organization, UNESCO, and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.


  • Robert Carter. Professor, Marine Geophysical Laboratory, James Cook University, Australia.


  • William M. Grey. Colorado State University Emeritus Professor of Atmospheric Science at Colorado State University, and head of the Tropical Meteorology Project at Colorado State Universities’ Department of Atmospheric Sciences.
    Discover Dialogue with William Grey, Professor Emeritus at Colorado State University, and head of the Tropical Meteorology Project, claims he was denied Government funding for being a climate change skeptic. Link
  • Tim Ball. Former Professor of Climatology, University of Winnipeg.


  • Tim Patterson. Professor of Paleoclimatology, Carlton University, Canada.


  • Ross McKitrick. Associate Professor of Economics, University of Guelph. Senior Fellow, Fraser Institute.


  • Boris Winterhalter. Professor of Marine Geology, University of Helsinki, and former Marine Researcher at the Geological Survey of Finland.


  • Wibjorn Karlen. Professor Emeritus, Department of Physical Geography and Quaternary, Stockholm University, Sweden.


  • Igor Polyakov. Professor, Institute of Marine Science, University of Alaska.


  • Dick Morgan. Researcher in Climatology, University of Exeter, United Kingdom and former Advisor to the World Meteorological Organization.