Home / Rohrabacher Named Taxpayer Hero 0

Rohrabacher Named Taxpayer Hero

Oct 13, 2009

Washington, Oct 13, 2009 - The Council for Citizens Against Government Waste (CCAGW) today honored nine
members of the U.S. House of Representatives from California as Taxpayer Heroes
for their high scores in the group`s 2008 Congressional Ratings: John Campbell
with 95 percent; David Dreier with 80 percent; Darrell Issa with 89 percent, Dan
Lungren with 81 percent; Kevin McCarthy with 81 percent; Howard "Buck" McKeon
with 80 percent; Devin Nunes with 87 percent; Dana Rohrabacher with 89 percent;
and Ed Royce with 98 percent. The average for the entire House was 35 percent,
and the average for the Senate was 38 percent; that makes these representatives`
achievements that much more impressive. Since 1989, CCAGW has tracked roll call
votes to separate the taxpayer advocates in Congress from those who favor
wasteful programs and pork-barrel spending.

The 2008 Congressional Ratings cover the voting year 2008, the second session of
the 110th Congress. CCAGW rated 48 key votes in the House and 42 in the Senate.

"These nine California representatives consistently put the interests of
taxpayers ahead of politics during a particularly profligate spending season in
Congress," said CCAGW president Tom Schatz. "They voted to cut wasteful
spending, reduce the tax burden, and make government more accountable to
taxpayers. The 2008 Congressional Ratings show that many elected officials
continue to demonstrate little regard for the harmful effect a large and
cumbersome federal government has on taxpayers` wallets. Out-of-control spending
reigned over Capitol Hill, leading to a record $1.6 trillion deficit in fiscal
year 2009, and an $11.8 trillion national debt. Taxpayers from their respective
districts should be very proud; these lawmakers` votes give all taxpayers hope
for the future. We heartily commend them," concluded Schatz. House Democrats
scored an average of 6 percent; House Republicans scored an average of 70
percent. In the Senate, the average for Democrats was 4 percent, and Republicans
averaged 72 percent.

CCAGW`s website,, features the complete 2008 Congressional
Ratings, including vote descriptions, scorecards for the House and Senate, and
averages by chamber, party, and state delegation. In the House, Rep. Paul Broun
(R-Ga.) was the sole "Taxpayer Super Hero" with a grade of 100 percent. In 2008,
there were 59 "Taxpayer Heroes" with a grade of 80 percent or above, the same as
in 2007. The big difference was in the number of members with a perfectly
abysmal score of zero. In 2007 there were only two. However, in 2008, the number
of members with a score of zero skyrocketed to 34; a 1,600 percent increase and
an indication of growing partisanship as all of them are Democrats.

The Council for Citizens Against Government Waste is the lobbying arm of
Citizens Against Government Waste, the nation`s largest nonpartisan, nonprofit
organization dedicated to eliminating waste, fraud, abuse, and mismanagement in