Home / Press Release / Science Technology Scholarship Program Passes Overwhelmingly

Science & Technology Scholarship Program Passes Overwhelmingly

Sep 17, 2007

Washington, Sep 17, 2007 -
H.R. 1657, the “Science and Technology Scholarship Program,” sponsored by Congressman Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) passed overwhelmingly today by a vote of 360-16. The legislation establishes a scholarship program to help recruit and prepare students for careers in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and the National Weather Service. Scholarships winners would receive full tuition to attend an institution of higher learning for no more than four years in exchange for entering into an agreement to serve as full time employees of NOAA for 24 months for each academic year of scholarship.

“Far too often capable students are opting out of science related filed such as meteorology and climatology in lieu of other fields,” said Rohrabacher in an August 30th Dear Colleague. “With the rising price of education, the NOAA scholarship program offers a major incentive to study in these difficult areas while providing sorely needed scientists.”

Current co-sponsors include Abercrombie (D-HI), Arcuri (D-NY), Bordallo (Guam), Lofgren (D-CA) and Wu (D-OR).