News and Commentary

Home / Media Center / News and Commentary / Representatives Rohrabacher Young Polis and Blumenauer Launch Congressional

Representatives Rohrabacher, Young, Polis, and Blumenauer Launch Congressional Cannabis Caucus

Feb 17, 2017
News and Commentary


Representatives Dana Rohrabacher of California, Don Young of Alaska, Jared Polis of Colorado, and Earl Blumenauer of Oregon hosted a press conference on February 16, 2017, to unveil the new Congressional Cannabis Caucus.   Forty-four states have legalized, to varying degrees, the production, distribution, and possession of marijuana for medicinal purposes.  Eight of those states, including California, have enacted laws allowing for the adult use of marijuana.  Despite these changes, marijuana remains illegal at the federal level (though, through the successful legislative efforts of Congressman Rohrabacher, the Department of Justice has been barred since December 2014 from using appropriated funds to prosecute residents and businesses who comply with their state’s medical marijuana laws). The Congressional Cannabis Caucus builds upon the success of Congressman Rohrabacher’s legislative efforts by serving as a forum for members of Congress to work together to establish a more rational approach to federal cannabis policy. 

You may view the press conference by vising this webpage.

Congressman Rohrabacher’s long-term solution to the disparity between state and federal marijuana law is embodied in a bipartisan bill he introduced on February 7, 2017, titled Respect State Marijuana Laws Act of 2017 (H.R. 975).  If enacted, this bill would allow residents and businesses to participate within the confines of a state’s medicinal or recreational marijuana program without running afoul of federal law.

Bill text and a summary may be obtained by visiting this webpage.